So as most of you know, today was my first day of school in 7 years. I'm attending EVCC Everett Community College for a little bit, then hopefully transferring to a 4 year school to finish my degree in Criminal Justice. After not much sleep, and numerous cups of coffee, it was time... My first class is Intro to Criminal Justice. It's a hybrid class, so that means some of the class is online, and some is in class. We'll it turns out that the only online stuff is homework and tests, all of which can be open book. I showed up a little...or a lot early, and there was nobody in the class, I was a tad worried, but after a while people started showing up. We have a strict syllabus, which is nice because I know what all of my homework is, and tests are to give me plenty of time to work on it. No reason for me not to ace this class. The prof seems nice, she came into the room "jamming" to her Ipod. She was in a bad mood, so she spent the whole class showing us her Facebook, YouTube videos, and videos of movies...I hope she's in a bad mood more often. Next I got lost going to my second class which was Oceanography. Little did I know that this class is tied together with English 102. So its a 3 hour combo of lectures, discussions and labs with 2 teachers. Apparently we are also going on a weekend field trip the weekend after Easter. This class seems difficult. The tests (festivities as the prof calls them) are open note tests, I'm going to load those up as much as possible. That being said, If all my tests are open note and one being open book tests, the only class I really have to worry about is writing the papers for English. Parking is a mess on the campus, so with only having one car, I'll be looking into public transportation. I've already got my homework done for Wednesday and most my reading done, more than I've even done at HACC. The semester ends June 13th, and very shortly after I'll be taking Summer classes. I can safely say that I will never take a class again where the two are joined like this. What a pain not to mention confusion. I technically could have a lab tomorrow or Thursday, nobody can give me a clear answer, so I'll be at both. Thanks for all the love and support, I wouldn't be here right now if it weren't for all of you. I'll keep you guys posted as more comes up
Our Adventure to Washington
Monday, April 2, 2012
Tuesday, March 6, 2012
Bored
Hey everybody, hope all is well. Erica is at work and I'm a little bored, so what better time to write the next blog. No much is new out west. Erica has teamed up with a fellow coworker in a sales contest at work. Last I heard they are in first by a small margin of less than $500, Friday is the last day of the contest. Erica had to do a mascot appearance this weekend, I insisted on doing it for her so I wouldn't have to answer any questions about the Everett Aquasox. So above is me and a storm trooper from star wars, clearly I have the better costume. It was a great success, including a mascot dance off and a dance with radio disney. I have been working on getting everything ready for my upcoming adventure back to school. It is not easy coordinating everything from the west coast when everything else is on the east coast. Getting a copy of my transcript sent from one to the other was probably one of the hardest things I've ever had to encounter.
The weather has been somewhat nice out the past couple of days. Right now it's sunny, and not a cloud in the sky. We took a trip to check out a local disc golf course this past week. It's almost a putt-putt course for me, but great for Erica to fine tune her game. We are planning on doing a doubles tournament this summer if we can find one! I just ordered a new disc which is a new line of plastic from Innova, I'm really excited about that. Supposed to be lighter, and faster than any of their other plastics, we shall see.
Erica and I are also going to team up and do some beer brewing together. We have a computer program coming in the mail that will help us determine some good recipes to use and what not. We will be designing a label and come up with a catchy name.
Saturday the Buffalo Sabres were playing in Vancouver, originally we wanted to go to the game, but tickets were too expensive. So we put on all of our Sabres gear and went to a bar to watch them beat the Canucks. What a game. We were not very welcome with Vancouver being the home team around here.
We miss everyone back home a ton and think about everyone all the time. Hope all is well. Can't wait to have some visitors
The weather has been somewhat nice out the past couple of days. Right now it's sunny, and not a cloud in the sky. We took a trip to check out a local disc golf course this past week. It's almost a putt-putt course for me, but great for Erica to fine tune her game. We are planning on doing a doubles tournament this summer if we can find one! I just ordered a new disc which is a new line of plastic from Innova, I'm really excited about that. Supposed to be lighter, and faster than any of their other plastics, we shall see.
Erica and I are also going to team up and do some beer brewing together. We have a computer program coming in the mail that will help us determine some good recipes to use and what not. We will be designing a label and come up with a catchy name.
Saturday the Buffalo Sabres were playing in Vancouver, originally we wanted to go to the game, but tickets were too expensive. So we put on all of our Sabres gear and went to a bar to watch them beat the Canucks. What a game. We were not very welcome with Vancouver being the home team around here.
We miss everyone back home a ton and think about everyone all the time. Hope all is well. Can't wait to have some visitors
Saturday, February 25, 2012
Wednesday, February 22, 2012
So this is it, the much anticipated moving fiasco story. As many of you are aware, this started in Hanover PA, when the moving truck showed up 11 hours later than what they had originally said. Erica and I made it easy on them, because all of our stuff was already in the garage (minus the bed,) all they had to do was to move it onto the truck. 3 weeks go by of sleeping on the floor and eating nothing but frozen meals (not as glamorous as it sounds,) and all we got was: "oh yeah, I'll have the driver call you tomorrow." No dice. Almost daily we had to call to check on the progress. Finally we have a date, Friday afternoon. Since Erica had to work, we requested that the driver calls us an hour before hand so she can leave work and make sure we're ready. Erica received a call from the driver at 4PM saying "I'm here and the truck won't fit in your complex". Ugh! The driver then demanded that we figure out a way to get our stuff from the truck and into our apartment (a.k.a. rent a u-haul and do it ourselves). The truck driver was EXTREMELY rude through the whole process even calling Greg to tell him we needed to hurry up, not to waste his time and informing us he had other customers waiting. Jerk. So from work, Erica reserved a U-Haul truck, left work early, picked Greg up and met the Driver in the parking lot of a Walmart just down the street. We weren't allowed to inspect any of the boxes or our furniture so Erica made sure to write a statement saying they were liable for anything that was broken. Did I mention that it is raining cats and dogs? Now that we finally had our belongings in our possession we picked up Chinese food and LOTS of beer for the long night ahead. We got everything up to our apartment in a timely manner only to realize that one of our couches wouldn't fit through the door. We were exhausted and decided to leave the couch in the hallway overnight until we could figure out what to do. Luckily we have some nice neighbors who helped us squeeze it in.
It was a pretty awful experience but we are glad to have all of our belongings! We are working on getting some money back from the moving company since they didn't really do anything to help us move. A few nasty phone calls and letters are in the works.
Now that everything is organized and decorated we are excited to invite people over and have visitors! We have been cooking and baking a ton to make up for all of the boring frozen meals. We made Sam Adams Tomato Curry Chicken which was amazing! Tonight is Chicken and Stuffing Bake.
That's all for the moving fiasco! We have plenty more fun stories to tell but we'll save that for another time! Love to all!
Thursday, February 9, 2012
Our apartment
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

