Monday, April 2, 2012

First day of school in 7 years

So as most of you know, today was my first day of school in 7 years. I'm attending EVCC Everett Community College for a little bit, then hopefully transferring to a 4 year school to finish my degree in Criminal Justice. After not much sleep, and numerous cups of coffee, it was time... My first class is Intro to Criminal Justice. It's a hybrid class, so that means some of the class is online, and some is in class. We'll it turns out that the only online stuff is homework and tests, all of which can be open book. I showed up a little...or a lot early, and there was nobody in the class, I was a tad worried, but after a while people started showing up. We have a strict syllabus, which is nice because I know what all of my homework is, and tests are to give me plenty of time to work on it. No reason for me not to ace this class. The prof seems nice, she came into the room "jamming" to her Ipod. She was in a bad mood, so she spent the whole class showing us her Facebook, YouTube videos, and videos of movies...I hope she's in a bad mood more often. Next I got lost going to my second class which was Oceanography. Little did I know that this class is tied together with English 102. So its a 3 hour combo of lectures, discussions and labs with 2 teachers. Apparently we are also going on a weekend field trip the weekend after Easter. This class seems difficult. The tests (festivities as the prof calls them) are open note tests, I'm going to load those up as much as possible. That being said, If all my tests are open note and one being open book tests, the only class I really have to worry about is writing the papers for English. Parking is a mess on the campus, so with only having one car, I'll be looking into public transportation. I've already got my homework done for Wednesday and most my reading done, more than I've even done at HACC. The semester ends June 13th, and very shortly after I'll be taking Summer classes. I can safely say that I will never take a class again where the two are joined like this. What a pain not to mention confusion. I technically could have a lab tomorrow or Thursday, nobody can give me a clear answer, so I'll be at both. Thanks for all the love and support, I wouldn't be here right now if it weren't for all of you. I'll keep you guys posted as more comes up  

1 comment:

  1. Congrats Greg...it seems you are in a different frame of mind this go round. I can't wait until I can share in excitement of going back to school. Hopefully it will only be a month or so until that happens. Seems like you have a pretty good support system out there too! Miss you both! Good luck.

    ReplyDelete